What is the capital of Louisiana?

What is the capital of Louisiana?

The state of Louisiana became the official state of the United States in 1812 as the eighteenth in a row. It is located in the southern United States on the coast of the Gulf of Mexico. It borders three other US states – Texas in the west, Arkansas in the north and Mississippi in the east . The capital of the state is the city of Baton Rouge, which has a population of 2,000.

The first European colonizers arrived in what is now Louisiana in the first half of the sixteenth century. The territory was taken over by the French and they created a colony called Louisiana, which, however, included a significantly larger area – a wide belt leading from the Gulf of Mexico to the French territories in present-day Canada. After the Seven Years’ War between Britain and France, Britain gained territory east of the Mississippi River, and the Spanish gained another part of Louisiana. In 1800, Napoleon Bonaparte regained Spanish territory and then sold the entire Louisiana colony to the United States three years later. In 1812, the state of Louisiana was formed from part of this colony.

Louisiana is located in the southern United States on the Gulf Coast. Geographically, it can be separated into two distinct parts – the northern hilly terrain and the southern coastal region including beaches, swamps, swamps, wetlands and barrier islands. Louisiana’s highest point is Driskill Mountain, whose “peak” is only 163 meters above sea level. The geographical landmark of Louisiana is the Mississippi River, which flows into the Gulf of Mexico in this state.

  • Louisiana Zip Codes: Offers a complete list of all postal codes in Louisiana by city and county.

Louisiana’s climate is characterized as humid subtropical and is characterized by long hot and humid summers and very mild and short winters. The nearby ocean partially alleviates any extreme summer temperatures, so it is usually warmer inland Louisiana than on its coast. The highest average summer temperatures rise to 32 degrees Celsius, in winter at night they fall on average in the north of the state to 3 degrees, on the coast to about 8 degrees Celsius. Strong storms are common, especially in the summer, and Louisiana is also prone to relatively frequent hurricanes. Precipitation is spread throughout the year, although summer is usually the richest in precipitation.

Industry plays an important role in Louisiana’s economy; The state rapidly industrialized in the 1960s and 1970s, and today the petrochemical industry, especially rich oil fields, are highly developed here, mainly outside the mainland in the Gulf of Mexico. The growing attraction of the city of New Orleans is of growing importance. In agriculture, Louisiana is one of the largest American producers of sweet potatoes, rice and sugar cane.

The capital of Louisiana is Baton Rouge, a city of 2,000 in the south of the state on the Mississippi River. However, the largest center is New Orleans, whose metropolitan area includes 1.2 million residents.

The capital of Louisiana – Baton Rouge

The state capital of Louisiana is Baton Rouge, located on the Mississippi River in the southern part of the state. Baton Rouge was founded in 1719 and was officially recognized as a city in 1817. Today, the metropolitan area around Baton Rouge is the second largest in Louisiana and has a population of 800,000; the city itself has about 230,000 residents.

Baton Rouge was founded in 1719 by the French; the city administration then gradually passed through the Spaniards and the British to the United States. Baton Rouge was officially recognized as a city in 1817 and gradually developed, mainly due to shipping on the Mississippi River. In 1846, it was decided to move the capital of Louisiana from New Orleans to Baton Rouge.

Today, Baton Rouge is one of the largest petrochemical centers in the American South. It is also an important port – the ninth largest in the United States. The metropolitan area is one of the fastest growing in the United States, increasing its population by a third in the first decade of the 21st century.

Thanks to the many cultures that have moved in the Baton Rouge area in recent centuries, the city, like the whole of Louisiana, has gained a unique cultural heritage.

Louisiana state flag

The Louisiana state flag was adopted in 2010.

State information

Abbreviation LA (Reference: AbbreviationFinder)
Name Louisiana
Capital Baton Rouge
Largest city New Orleans
Population 4,625,470 (2013)
Area 135,658 km 2
Accession to the Union April 30, 1812
The highest point Driskill Mountain (163 m)


Comments are closed.