What is the capital of Maine?

What is the capital of Maine?

The state of Maine became the official state of the United States in 1820 as the twenty-third in a row. It is located in the northeastern tip of the United States and borders Canada to the north. Of the other US states, it borders New Hampshire only to the west. The capital of the state of Maine is the city of Augusta, which has a population of 20,000.

The area of ​​today’s state of Maine began to be settled by European colonists, specifically the British, in the early 17th century. In the middle of the century, the area came under the administration of the Massachusetts Bay Colony, but in the following decades the area became a place of struggle for supremacy between the British, the French and the original inhabitants. After gaining American independence, Maine became part of the state of Massachusetts, but the dissatisfaction of the population with the administration resulted in efforts to secede and create their own state. This was achieved in 1820, when Maine became the 23rd American state.

Maine is located in the northeastern part of the United States on the Atlantic coast. It is the easternmost state in the USA and also the only one that shares a border with only one other American state. The highest point is the top of Mount Katahdin, which is located at an altitude of 1606 meters.

  • Maine Zip Codes: Offers a complete list of all postal codes in Maine by city and county.

The climate in Maine is characterized as a humid continental and is characterized by relatively warm and wet summers and cold winters with plenty of snowfall. The average maximum daily temperatures in summer reach around 27 degrees Celsius, in winter the average maximum temperatures are kept below freezing during the day, so that at night they fall to -12 degrees.

The development of the state of Maine in the past has always been hampered by harsh climatic conditions that do not favor agriculture. Today, the paper and wood industry plays an important role in the state’s economy. In the last few decades, services have been developing rapidly, for example in the financial sector. Tourists are also increasingly choosing Maine as their holiday destination, especially using the excellent conditions for outdoor activities; Acadia National Park is a popular destination for visitors.

Augusta has been the capital of the state of Maine since 1832, but the largest city is Portland with a population of 70,000.

The capital of Maine – Augusta

The capital of the state of Maine is the city of Augusta. It is located in the southeastern part of the state and has a home of about 20,000 inhabitants, making it the third smallest capital in all US states. Augusta became the state capital of Maine in 1832.

The area of ​​today’s city of Augusta was inhabited in the middle of the eighteenth century. The city itself was founded in 1797 and named Augustus after Henry Dearborn’s daughter, a veteran of the American Revolutionary War. In 1827, the capital was moved to Augusta from the coastal Portland so that the center was closer to the center of the state and more accessible to the majority of the population. However, the state authorities did not move to Augusta until 1832, after the seat of parliament was completed.

Augusta is located in the southern part of the state, about fifty kilometers from the Atlantic coast. There is a humid continental climate, characterized by warm and humid summers, with average peak temperatures of around 26 degrees Celsius, and cold and snow-rich winters with average peak daily temperatures around zero. Precipitation is relatively common throughout the year; most of them are usually recorded in the fall.

Flag of the state of Maine

The flag of the state of Maine was adopted in 1909.

State information

Abbreviation ME (Reference: AbbreviationFinder)
Name Maine
Capital Augusta
Largest city Portland
Population 1,328,302 (2013)
Area 91,634 km 2
Accession to the Union March 15, 1820
The highest point Mount Katahdin (1,606 m)


Comments are closed.