What is the capital of Maryland?

What is the capital of Maryland?

The state of Maryland became the official state of the United States in 1788 as the seventh in a row. It is located in the northeastern part of the United States on the Atlantic coast and borders four other US states – in the north with Pennsylvania, in the east with the state of Delaware, and in the west with Virginia and West Virginia. The capital of the state of Maryland is the city of Annapolis, with a population of 40,000.

European colonizers began to explore the territory of present-day Maryland during the 16th century. In 1632, the British colony of Maryland was officially established here and soon became one of the few predominantly Catholic regions among the British colonies in America. As part of the struggle for independence, Maryland subsequently became one of the founding colonies of the newly formed United States, and in 1788, after ratification of the Constitution, it was accepted as the seventh official state of the United States.

Maryland is one of the smallest U.S. states, but also has one of the highest population densities. Despite its relatively small size, Maryland is geographically very interesting – from coastal sand dunes in the east, through swampy areas to the rolling highlands further west to an almost mountainous environment. The highest point of the state is Hoye-Crest with an altitude of 1024 meters.

Maryland’s climate, which is affected by both altitude and distance from the ocean, is similarly diverse. In the eastern part of the ocean, there is a humid subtropical climate with hot and humid summers and short, mild winters. The average highest summer temperatures here rise above 30 degrees Celsius, in winter the highest daily temperatures reach about five degrees; at night they then fall below zero. In the west of the state, the climate is changing to a humid continental, which entails relatively significantly lower winter temperatures.

Industry is the main economic driver of Maryland’s economy; fishing is still important, although it has been in decline for some time. Many Marylanders commute to nearby Washington, home to a number of federal offices.

The capital of Maryland is the city of Annapolis, forty thousand, located on the coast of the Chesapeake Bay; however, the main economic center of the state is the city of Baltimore.

The capital of Maryland – Annapolis

The capital of the state of Maryland is the city of Annapolis located in the Chesapeake Bay. The city was founded in 1649 and is one of the oldest settlements in the United States. It was declared an official city in 1708 and today has less than forty thousand inhabitants.

The settlement, founded in 1649, gradually had several names, until in 1694 it was renamed Annapolis after the Danish and Swedish princess Anna. In 1783, the city of Annapolis even became the temporary capital of the entire United States for a year, and after the official accession of the state of Maryland to the Union, it also became the capital of this state.

Annapolis is located on the shores of Chesapeake Bay and has a humid subtropical climate, which brings very hot and humid summers with the highest average temperatures of 30 degrees Celsius and relatively mild winters, when night temperatures fall only a few tenths of a degree below freezing..

Maryland state flag

The Maryland state flag was adopted in 1904.

State information

Abbreviation MD
Name Maryland
Capital Annapolis
Largest city Baltimore
Population 5,928,814 (2013)
Area 32 131 km 2
Accession to the Union Apr 28, 1788
The highest point Hoye-Crest (1,024 m)


The city of Gaithersburg is located in Montgomery County, Maryland. Currently, around 59,000 people live here, making the city the fourth largest in the country after Baltimore, Rockville and Frederick.

Gaithersburg is an urbanistically very diverse city, in its center there is a historic core with many valuable historic buildings. Gaithersburg was founded in 1765 as a small farming settlement known as Log Town, near what is now Summite Hall on the Ralph Crabb property. A few decades later, around 1850, the settlement was renamed Gaithersburg after the owner of the local land, Benjamin Gaither.

Gaithersburg is home to the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Other major employers in the city include IBM, ACE*COMM, Lockheed Martin Information Systems and Global Services. The city is also home to the United States Army’s 220th Military Police Brigade.

Comments are closed.