What is the capital of Minnesota?

What is the capital of Minnesota?

The state of Minnesota became the official state of the United States in 1858 as the thirty-second in a row. It is located in the northern United States on the border with Canada and borders four other American states – North Dakota and South Dakota in the west, Iowa in the south and Wisconsin in the east . The capital of the state is its largest city, Saint Paul.

The area of ​​today’s state of Minnesota has historically been inhabited by indigenous people, especially the Dakota tribe. The first European settlers began coming to the region in the 17th century. The territory east of the Mississippi River became part of the United States after the American Revolutionary War, and the region west of this largest American river became part of the so-called Louisiana Purchase – the purchase of territory from France in 1803. In 1849, the Minnesota Territory eleven years later, Minnesota was accepted as the 32nd state in the Union.

Minnesota is the northernmost state of the USA (outside of Alaska) and lies in the Great Lakes region on the border with Canada. Minnesota is a relatively flat state with a gently undulating surface; the highest point is Eagle Mountain with an altitude of 701 meters. There are over 11,000 lakes and lakes in Minnesota and a number of streams and rivers, the largest of which is the Mississippi River.

The climate in Minnesota is continental with very harsh winters and hot to hot summers. While in winter most of the state is covered with snow and the highest daily temperatures “rise” to only -5 degrees on average, in summer, on the contrary, it stays around 28 degrees on average.

  • Minnesota Zip Codes: Offers a complete list of all postal codes in Minnesota by city and county.

Minnesota is America’s largest producer of iron ore, as well as sand and gravel. Agriculture is also important, especially the cultivation of corn, wheat and soybeans, as well as cattle breeding and milk and dairy products.

The capital of the state of Minnesota is the city of Saint Paul, which is the second largest city in Minnesota with about 300,000 inhabitants. It is also part of the Minneapolis-St.Paul, the state’s largest metropolitan area.

Minnesota state flag

The state flag of Minnesota was adopted in 1983.

State information

Abbreviation MN (Reference: AbbreviationFinder)
Name Minnesota
Capital Saint Paul
Largest city Minneapolis
Population 5,420,380 (2013)
Area 225 163 km 2
Accession to the Union May 11, 1858
The highest point Eagle Mountain (701 m)


The capital of Minnesota – Saint Paul

The capital of the state of Minnesota is the city of Saint Paul. It is located at the eastern border of the state, was founded in 1854 and today is inhabited by about 300,000 residents. St.Paul is part of the Minneapolis-St.Paul suburb, the largest agglomeration in the state of Minnesota.

Today’s city area Paul was formerly inhabited by Native American tribes. At the beginning of the 19th century, part of the land was bought from these tribes and a military fortress was built. In 1841, the chapel of St. Paul, who eventually gave the city its name. After the creation of the territory of Minnesota in 1849, St. Paul named the capital, which has not changed since Minnesota became the official state of the United States in 1858.

St. Paul is located on the eastern border of Minnesota on the east bank of the Mississippi River. Together with Minneseap’s largest city, Minneapolis, it forms a so-called conurbation, and these cities are called Twin Cities; the whole agglomeration has about 3.5 million inhabitants.

The climate in the area is continental – hot and wet summers are alternated with very cold and snow-rich winters. The average maximum temperatures in summer reach 28 degrees Celsius, in winter they fall to an average of -14 and during the day they rise only to -5 degrees Celsius.

Comments are closed.