What is the capital of New Jersey?

What is the capital of New Jersey?

The state of New Jersey became the official state of the USA in 1787 as the third in a row. It is located in the northeastern part of the United States and borders three other states – the state of New York in the north, the state of Delaware in the south and Pennsylvania in the west. The capital of the state of New Jersey is the city of Trenton.

The area of ​​today’s New Jersey was originally inhabited by the Dutch, but in the 1760s it came under English rule. During the American Revolution, New Jersey was one of thirteen colonies that revolted against British rule, and after a successful struggle for independence, New Jersey became the third state to ratify the United States Constitution.

Nearly the entire state of New Jersey, except for the northern 80-kilometer border with the state of New York, is surrounded by water. The upper third of the country lies in the Appalachian Highlands and there are gentle hills and picturesque valleys with many streams and rivers. The rest of the state is dominated by the lowlands and especially the coastal part is very populated with many cities.

The northwestern part of the country has a humid continental climate and temperatures are colder than in the rest of the country, mainly due to higher altitudes. Summers in New Jersey are typically very warm and humid with average daily temperatures around 28 degrees Celsius, while in winter the highest temperatures rise to only 5 degrees Celsius; due to the proximity of the ocean, the temperature differences between day and night are not too great. Precipitation is evenly distributed throughout the year.

New Jersey is one of the smallest in the United States, but it also has one of the highest population densities, especially due to its proximity to major cities such as New York City and Philadelphia, where many New Jersey residents commute to work. New Jersey is a major industrial and transportation hub, and tourism is an important part of the state’s economy, most notably Atlantic City, the eastern copy of Las Vegas.

The capital of the state of New Jersey is the city of Trenton, which is 80,000, and the largest city is Newark.

New Jersey state flag

The flag of the state of New Jersey was adopted in 1896.

State information

Abbreviation NJ
Name New Jersey
Capital Trenton
Largest city Newark
Population 8,899,339 (2013)
Area 22,592 km 2
Accession to the Union December 18, 1787
The highest point High Point (550 m)


The capital of New Jersey – Trenton

The capital of the state of New Jersey is the city of Trenton. It was founded in the early eighteenth century and has been the capital of New Jersey since 1790. Trenton has a population of about 85,000.

The first permanent settlement in the area in which the city of Trenton is located dates back to the 1970s. In 1719, the inhabitants of the town chose the name Trent-towne, after William Trent, who owned a large amount of land in the area; the name was later abbreviated to Trenton. During the American War of Independence, the Battle of Trenton took place here – George Washington’s first major military victory. In 1790, Trenton became the official capital of the state of New Jersey.

The climate in Trenton is on the border of humid subtropical and humid continental – winters are relatively cold with the highest average daily temperatures just a few degrees above freezing, summers hot with high humidity and the highest temperatures around 30 degrees Celsius. Precipitation is relatively frequent and distributed substantially evenly throughout the year.

Trenton is a major transportation hub, especially due to its location between New York City and Philadelphia. Porcelain production has a long historical tradition here since colonial times. Important monuments in the city are William Trent House, the oldest building in the city from 1719, the World War I Memorial and also the Capitol building from 1792, gradually modernized and expanded.

Comments are closed.