What is the capital of Ohio?

What is the capital of Ohio?

The state of Ohio is located in the eastern part of the United States in the Great Lakes region. It became the official state of the USA in 1803 as the seventeenth in a row. It borders five other US states – Pennsylvania and West Virginia in the east, Michigan in the north , Indiana in the east and Kentucky in the south . The capital of the state of Ohio is the city of Columbus.

The original inhabitants of the area in present-day Ohio existed thousands of years before the arrival of Europeans. It was a disaster for them due to frequent wars and especially epidemics of European diseases for which they were not prepared. The area was colonized by the French, but fought hard with Britain over it; after the Seven Years’ War in 1754, France ceded the region to Britain. However, the successful American Revolutionary War brought another change of government, and in 1783, the Ohio area became part of the United States. The United States established the Northwest Territory here, which included many of today’s US states, including Ohio. In 1803, President Thomas Jefferson signed the Ohio State Borders and Constitution Act, but Congress never formally approved Ohio’s entry into the Union.

The state of Ohio is not geographically significantly fragmented; The surface is very flat and only in the southeast of the state does it gradually rise as it leads to the mountains of West Virginia. The highest point of the state is Campbell Hill with an altitude of 472 meters.

Ohio’s climate is characterized as humid continental – summer is typically very warm and humid throughout the state, with average maximum daily temperatures of 30 degrees Celsius. Winters are cold to cold with the highest average temperatures slightly above freezing. Rainfall is not significant and is relatively evenly distributed throughout the year.

Ohio’s economy is heavily industry-based, however the importance has declined in recent decades. Heavy industry is important, such as the production of transport equipment, metal processing and mechanical engineering. Agriculture also retains its importance, especially the production of corn and grain.

The capital and largest city of Ohio is the city of Columbus; Cleveland and Cincinnati are also important economic centers.

Ohio state flag

The Ohio state flag was adopted in 1902.

State information

Abbreviation OH
Name Ohio
Capital Columbus
Largest city Columbus
Population 11,570,808 (2013)
Area 116,099 km 2
Accession to the Union March 1, 1803
The highest point Campbell Hill (472 m)


The capital of Ohio – Columbus

The capital of the state of Ohio is the city of Columbus. It was founded in 1812 with the sole purpose of becoming the capital of the state. It is located in its central part and has almost 800,000 inhabitants.

The area of ​​present-day Ohio has long been inhabited by Native American tribes. With the arrival of Europeans, the first permanent settlement was established near today’s Colmubus at the end of the 18th century. In 1803, Ohio became the official state of the United States, and the capital was constantly changing from Chillicothe to Zanesville and back. Subsequently, lawmakers decided to establish a completely new city in the very center of the state of Ohio, and Columbus was chosen among several candidates, mainly due to good accessibility by river. Prior to the legislature’s decision, Columbus did not exist as such and began to emerge with the clear intention of building a new capital. Important milestones were the construction of a road in 1831 and subsequently also a railway nineteen years later, which supported the development of the city and the growth of the population.

Today, Columbus is Ohio’s largest commercial, transportation, and industrial center, home to several universities. The main monuments and objects of interest include the seat of parliament.

Comments are closed.