What is the capital of Pennsylvania?

What is the capital of Pennsylvania?

The state of Pennsylvania is located in the northeastern part of the United States. He is one of the founding states of the Union; Pennsylvania became the official state of the USA in 1787 as the second. It borders six other states – New York in the north and New Jersey in the east, Delaware, Maryland and West Virginia in the south and Ohio in the west. The capital of the state of Pennsylvania is the city of Harrisburg.

European colonists began to settle in present-day Pennsylvania as early as the early 17th century; the territory was gradually under the rule of the Swedes, the Dutch and the British. In 1681, the King of England left almost the entire territory of present-day Pennsylvania to William Penn as payment of the king’s debt to William Penn’s father. He established a colony called Pennsylvania and at the same time concluded an agreement with the local Native American tribes, which ensured long-term peace between the Indians and the colonists. Pennsylvania’s western border was a point of contention between France and Britain and was not resolved until the Seven Years’ War in the mid-18th century. In the following years, Pennsylvania was one of thirteen colonies rebelling against British rule, ratifying the American Constitution in 1787, making it the second official state of the Union.

Pennsylvania is located in the northeastern part of the United States; it partially extends into the Great Lakes region, where it has about fifty kilometers of access to Lake Erie. The Appalachian Mountains stretch diagonally through Pennsylvania; the highest point of the state is Mount Davis with an altitude of 979 meters.

The climate in most of Pennsylvania is characterized as humid continental. The weather here is characterized by cold winters, which are tougher, especially in the mountainous hinterland. Summers are then generally very warm with considerable humidity; the highest average daily temperatures attack 30 degrees Celsius in summer. The whole of Pennsylvania is relatively rich in rainfall, both rain and snow.

Pennsylvania is an industrial state, long focused on heavier industries. Pittsburgh and the surrounding area is known as the Steel Center; Other industries such as the production of transport equipment, mechanical engineering and the chemical industry are still important.

Pennsylvania has two major centers at opposite ends of the state – the metropolitan area around Philadelphia in the east and Pittsburgh in the west. However, the capital of the state is 50,000 Harrisburg.

Pennsylvania state flag

The flag of the state of Pennsylvania was adopted in 1907.

State information

Abbreviation BYE
Name Pennsylvania
Capital Harrisburg
Largest city Philadelphia
Population 12,773,801 (2013)
Area 119,279 km 2
Accession to the Union 12. 12. 1787
The highest point Mount Davis (979 m)

The capital of Pennsylvania – Harrisburg

The capital of Pennsylvania is the city of Harrisburg. It was founded in 1791, however it had been inhabited several decades before. It has been the capital of Pennsylvania since 1812 and today has a population of about 50,000.

The area of ​​present-day Harrisburg has long been inhabited by Native Americans; the first Europeans came here at the beginning of the seventeenth century. In 1719, the English merchant John Harris founded the first permanent settlement here. His followers decided to establish a city here, which they named after Harris. Harrisburg became the official city in 1791 and less than twenty years later it even became the capital of Pennsylvania.

Harrisburg soon became an important transportation hub, mainly due to the construction of a canal in 1827 and the arrival of the railroad nine years later. The steel industry in particular began to gain ground here, but it has been in decline since the second half of the 20th century.

Interesting sights in Harrisburg include the Capitol from 1906, the State Museum of Pennsylvania and the National Civil War Museum.